top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureOccasionally Opinionated

Is There a Purpose Behind It?

I told you all I was never great at keeping up with my blog. I start it and then life gets in the way; and not in a good way...


But anyway, here we are with our world opening back up little by little...My question is are we jumping the gun? Are we as a society so set on being out and about that we are putting people at risk? I don't have the answers. I don't know the solution. Besides if this is anything like the rest of my life, it doesn't matter if I know the answer. Nobody asked me. They should start though...I have some interesting insight on some things.


Warning: this may end up sounding sort of rant-y, but you are on my blog so it problably won't bother you too much. I keep seeing things on social media (I know...hear me out first) where people are going out of the way to cause extra drama. "What do you mean? People would never do that!" you may say. Yeah...it surprised me too.


I saw a post that said they didn't care about health care professional being at risk because they chose their job, just like they didn't feel sorry for wounded soldiers for the same reason. (annoyance at that stupidity on a totally different level, but that's a different rant). I saw "peaceful protest" signs that said "sacrifice the weak; re-open TN."


What has happened to our nation? Our people? Our world? What crazy twilight zone have we stepped into that common decency is out the window and we no longer care for our fellow humans? How have we drifted so far from God that we would be willing to sacrifice those who Jesus commanded us to take care of just so we can be social and go out?


Once again, I don't have the answers. But maybe the problem isn't the lack of answers. God has the answers. He IS the answer. Maybe the problem is that we are so anxious to go back to the way things were. Maybe the problem is that we are asking the wrong questions.


Instead of "how is the government going to fix this," maybe we should be asking "what is my role in the solution?"
Instead of "why would God let this happen," maybe we should ponder "why shouldn't God let this happen?"
Instead of "me," maybe I should think "mankind."

I believe that sometimes things just happen. I don't believe that God makes every single thing happen. Yes, I believe He knows and can control, but does that mean He makes bad things happen...No, I don't think He does. However, while I think sometimes things just happen - I also think that everything has a purpose. What is the purpose of this chaos that we are living in? Maybe its purpose is to show us how far we have fallen; how little we actually care for other people. Maybe it is to reshape the way we think/live/interact. I don't know the answer...but I know who does.

14 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

The "New Normal"

"I can't wait for things to go back to normal." "Let's just act like everything is normal." I've been hearing that a lot lately. I mean...I may have even said it a few times myself. We say it ab

Lyrics for Laughs

Hey peeps, First off, I need to start by saying this post is all in good fun. I know that our current situation is serious, but I truly believe that sometimes you have to laugh or else you'll cry...an

bottom of page