top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureOccasionally Opinionated

Well...Here It Is

Hey all...

So, I was thinking about how much things have changed over the last few months - well, weeks really. Before all of this chaos, I worked at school from 7:30 (ish) - 3:45 then drove across town to co-direct a school play every week day. Then on weekends, I would juggle lesson planning (thank God for Amber & Wendy or I'd be lost in the sauce), personal life, and my duties at church as a sound tech, musician, and Sunday School Superintendent. During my "Summer Off" as some people refer to it, I did a Summer Feeding Program every day and a weeklong children's camp that was a big part of what got me into teaching (but that's a story for another day). Was I great at juggling it all?...

Probably not...it depends on who you asked.

Ever since chaos struck, I spend about 6 hours M-F sitting by a computer to answer questions IF anyone has them...spoiler alert - they seldom do. Evening = free...weekends = free. 2 hours lunch break. Sounds like the dream life, right?

... Wrong.

... Let's recap what I've accomplished so far: ✔︎ Check email 40 times a day ✔︎ Check ClassDojo 100 times a day ✔︎ Check iReady every 15 minutes ✔︎ Grade papers and make data sheets for PLCs ✔︎ Build a website for my church...three different sites actually ✔︎ Update every online piece of information about my church ✔︎ Make a class Facebook and post a daily task along with other activities ✔︎ Make videos of myself reading to my students ✔︎ Rewrite the lyrics to multiple songs to be relevant to COVID-19 and school closings Sit and stare aimlessly at the wall ✔︎ Sign up for tik-tok and attempt to learn a dance (unsuccessful)

Need I continue? Yeah...I didn't think so. So, I used to love to write, stories, poems, songs...anything really. So I decided if ever there was a time to start again... That being said, I have teacher-brain, quarantine-brain, and I live in the middle of redneck-nowhere so there is no telling what I might come up with. If you like it - awesome! Keep reading and enjoy my crazy because someone should. If you don't like it or it offends you, just remember:

no one is making you read it so keep your negativity to yourself.

I don't need it in my life. I'm a realist to the core, and that comes with a lot of negativity because we live in a beautiful, yet harsh world.

With love,


CShel

71 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

The "New Normal"

"I can't wait for things to go back to normal." "Let's just act like everything is normal." I've been hearing that a lot lately. I mean...I may have even said it a few times myself. We say it ab

bottom of page